Recent Success

Its been a busy period with many major shooting events since our post on the FT/R team heading off to South Australia for the National Teams matches. The ACT has been well represented at many of these events and we should acknowledge the success our members have enjoyed.

Continue reading

FT/R clean up in Tasmania

Shane (L) and Dennis with Badges & Trophies

ACT was well represented at the recent Tasmanian championships with 7 members attending the event.

Most successful were two of our FT/R shooters, Dennis Formatti who finished 1st in the Queens and Grand Championship edging out Shane Dowling in 2nd position. Congratulations to both shooters and see the following link for Full Results.

Other team members also featured in the championship, Mark Wilson winning two ranges and Graham collected 3rd badge in the lead-up and a range prize.

Congratulations to all who participated.

Tumut success

A number of ACT members travelled to Tumut last Sunday for the Vince Wood Memorial weekend shoot that programs a 10 and 15 shot match at 1000 yds. In an update from our member “the weather was very pleasant, shoot had a great atmosphere, hospitality was great and there were around 40 entrants competing in a extremely well run shoot. The wind changed quickly from 2 minutes right to 2 minutes left and it had a number of shooters muttering to themselves that they simply could not read the wind. Apparently not many opportunities to fire two consecutive shots with the same wind call”.

All members who attended must have handled the conditions OK as they appeared in the final prize list and there were badges and trophies to show.  Congratulations to:
Shaun Wingrove – 1st in TR A,
Chris Maher 3rd in TR A,
Shane Dowling – 1st in FTR and Tony Daniel – 3rd F-std B.

Great to see members travelling to support local clubs and well done to Tumut Rifle Club for a great day.

New Zealand success

Congratulations to Steve & Donna Negus on their team and individual results from New Zealand. Steve a wind coach and Donna a shooter were members of the successful Australian Team who travelled to NZ in early January to compete for the Trans-Tasman Trophy. The team’s success a great start to a busy year that will see many going on to compete in South Africa in March. Well done to all members of the team and all the best in South Africa.

Individual results from the 2017 National Championships were equally impressive with Steve finishing 2nd to Australia’s other coach, Jim Bailey. Remember Jim also won the 2016 ACT championships last November.

In the final 20 shoot off Steve finished with a 74.6 for a total of 559.47 while Jim a 75.9 for a total of 561.53 and both over 14points in front of other competitors. Very impressive results and congratulations to Steve and Jim.

Australian Team with the Trans-Tasman trophy

Australian Team with the Trans-Tasman trophy
Picture 1 of 8